Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Franklin Divorce Attorney > Blog > Criminal > What Are The Penalties For A DUI Conviction?

What Are The Penalties For A DUI Conviction?

DUI_Law

As a driver in Tennessee, it is important to know what penalties you may face if pulled over and arrested for driving under the influence. Prosecutors take this charge very seriously, and the punishments can be expensive, inconvenient, and harsh if not handled by an experienced Tennessee criminal defense attorney. At the law office of Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, our dedicated Franklin criminal defense lawyers are here to protect your rights after a DUI arrest. To learn more, call or contact our office now.

First DUI Conviction

The penalties associated with a conviction for driving under the influence are based on a person’s driving history and previous criminal history. For a first DUI conviction, the punishment can include the following:

  • Up to eleven months and 29 days in jail,
  • Between $350 and $1,500 in fines,
  • Driver’s license revocation for one year,
  • Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program,
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device,
  • Restitution to anyone injured or suffering from property loss in an accident.

If the driver had a blood alcohol content of 0.20% or higher at the time of arrest, the penalties are increased to a minimum of seven days in jail for the offense.

Second DUI Conviction

For a second DUI conviction in Tennessee, the penalties are increased, and punishment for a second DUI conviction can include the following:

  • Minimum of 45 days or up to eleven months and 29 days in jail,
  • Between $600 and $3,000 in fines,
  • Driver’s license revocation for two years,
  • Vehicle seizure and forfeit,
  • Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program,
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device,
  • Restitution for any injury or property damage,

If the second DUI conviction occurs within five years of the first conviction, the penalties are enhanced to include an additional six months of the ignition interlock device paid for at the driver’s expense once their license is returned.

Third DUI Conviction

A third conviction for driving under the influence in Tennessee is also considered a misdemeanor offense, but the penalties are increased from a first or second conviction. Penalties for a third DUI conviction include the following:

  • Between 120 days and eleven months, 29 days in jail,
  • Between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines,
  • Driver’s license revocation for six years,
  • Vehicle seizure and forfeit,
  • Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program,
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device,

If the third conviction for DUI occurs within five years of the second conviction, an ignition interlock device must be installed at the driver’s expense for at least six months after the return of their driver’s license.

Fourth and Subsequent DUI Convictions

Fourth and subsequent DUIs are considered felony offenses, which means that the penalties become severe. Punishment for these crimes include the following:

  • Class E felony on your criminal record,
  • At least one year of jail time,
  • $3,000 to $15,000 in fines,
  • Driver’s license revoked for eight years,
  • Vehicle seizure and forfeit,
  • Participation in a drug and alcohol treatment program,
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

Call Our Office

If you or a loved one is facing charges for driving under the influence in Williamson County, call or contact the knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys at Fort, Holloway, & Rogers today.

Resource:

tn.gov/safety/publicsafety.html

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2020 - 2022 Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.