Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Franklin Divorce Attorney > Blog > Criminal > Tennessee Marijuana Laws: What You Need To Know

Tennessee Marijuana Laws: What You Need To Know

Marijuana2

Despite the growing legalization in other states, in Tennessee, marijuana remains classified as a Schedule VI controlled substance, and Tennessee has not legalized the use of marijuana for recreational or medical purposes, except in extremely limited circumstances. If you or someone you know has been accused of possessing, cultivating, or selling marijuana in the Williamson County area it is critical that you speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. At Fort, Holloway, & Rogers our team of dedicated legal professionals is prepared to zealously advocate for your rights every step of the way. Call or contact our office today to schedule a consultation and learn more.

Marijuana Possession

Possession of marijuana is considered a Class A misdemeanor offense in Tennessee. The maximum penalty if you are convicted of possession of marijuana is 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine of $250.00; however, these fines increase with a second or subsequent conviction.

Growing or Selling Marijuana

Growing, or manufacturing, marijuana and selling marijuana are treated the same in Tennessee. The severity and the punishment each depend on the amount of marijuana.

Selling or manufacturing marijuana in the amount of one-half ounce or more, but not more than ten pounds is a Class E Felony in Tennessee. Conviction of this offense carries the possibility of one to six years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.00.

Selling or manufacturing marijuana is a Class D Felony if the amount of marijuana is in the range from ten pounds, one gram to seventy pounds. Further having ten to nineteen marijuana plants, regardless of their weight, is likewise considered a Class D Felony. Conviction of this offense carries the possibility of two to twelve years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.00.

Selling or manufacturing marijuana is a Class C Felony for twenty marijuana plants up to ninety-nine plants, regardless of their weight. Conviction of this offense carries the possibility of three to fifteen years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.00.

Selling or manufacturing marijuana between the amount of seventy pounds and three hundred pounds, or having plants between the amount of one-hundred plants up to four hundred ninety-nine plants regardless of their weight, is a Class B Felony in Tennessee. Conviction of this offense carries the possibility of eight to thirty years in prison and a fine of up to $200,000.00.

Selling or manufacturing marijuana between the amount of three hundred pounds or more, or five hundred or more plants, regardless of their weight, is a Class A Felony in Tennessee. Conviction of this offense carries the possibility of fifteen to sixty years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000.00.

Call or Contact Us Today

Have you or someone you know been arrested and charged with a marijuana offense in Williamson County? If so, the experienced Franklin criminal attorneys at Fort, Holloway, & Rogers are here to help. Call the office or contact us today to schedule a consultation to discuss your legal case.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2020 - 2021 Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.