Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Franklin Divorce Attorney > Columbia DUI Defense Attorney

Columbia DUI Defense Attorney

You know that drunk driving is illegal and that Tennessee laws are harsh in terms of punishment, so mistakes or a lapse in judgment can lead to serious consequences. A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) could mean jail time and fines, but there are also implications for your driver’s license. To further complicate matters, there is more than one way to get arrested for DUI, and the statutes also apply to drugged driving. If you are facing charges, you might be overwhelmed by the process.

Fortunately, you can count on our team at Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC to defend your interests after being arrested for drunk driving. We have extensive experience and knowledge of the relevant laws, so we can develop a strategy to fight the charges. Please contact our firm today to set up a consultation with a Columbia DUI defense attorney. You might also benefit from reviewing some general information about the legal process.

Summary of Tennessee DUI Laws and Penalties

It may come as a surprise to learn that there are two ways to get arrested for drunk driving:

  1. You were operating a motorized vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more, which is the legal limit.
  2. Based upon the observations of police officers, you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs to the point that your abilities to drive safely were impaired.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security outlines some of the penalties you face if convicted of DUI:

  • For a first time drunk driving offense, the charge is a misdemeanor punishable by 48 hours to more than 11 months in jail. Your license will be suspended for 1 year.
  • A second DUI could lead to a minimum of 45 days’ incarceration, plus a fine ranging from $600 to $3,500. Driving privileges are suspended for 2 years.
  • If convicted a third time, the minimum jail term is 120 days. Fines increase to $1,000, but could be up to $10,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 6 to 10 years.

Strategies for Fighting Drunk Driving Charges

Considering the harsh penalties and impact on your driving privileges, a solid defense is critical. Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC will identify opportunities, as there may be ways to fight the charges based upon the circumstances of your arrest. Police must have reasonable suspicion to pull you over and probable cause to charge you; plus, there could be inconsistencies related to the breathalyzer or other chemical test.

In addition to these strategies, our Columbia DUI defense lawyers may pursue options for probation. You might qualify to avoid jail time by meeting the terms set by the court.

Trust a Columbia DUI Defense Attorney to Fight the Charges

If you were arrested for drunk driving in Tennessee, retaining qualified legal help should be a priority. At Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC, we will take advantage of all possible tactics and options for obtaining a favorable outcome. Please call 931-901-2300 or check us out online to schedule a consultation with a skilled Columbia DUI defense lawyer.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2020 - 2022 Fort, Holloway, & Rogers, LLC. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.